Sous Vide Chuck Roast with Mushroom Sauce

I’ve been meaning to try a long-cook sous vide roast for a while, but I didn’t want to spend too much money in case it didn’t turn out the way I wanted to. This chuck roast was about $10 for a little over 2 lbs of meat, which is about $1.25 per serving – not too shabby!

For a low-and-slow option, check out my Slow Oven Roast post. Next time I will try a reverse sear, low-and-slow method.


Rub

I used a mixture of freshly ground black peppercorns and salt to rub over the entire roast. To be honest, I think I need to fine tune the amount of salt and pepper as the end result was too salty. To be honest again, I also didn’t rest the meat as long as I should have because I was running out of time for it to sit in the water bath for as long as I wanted to.

This time around for the 2 lb roast, I ended up using about 1/2 oz of pepper and a little more than 1/2 oz of salt.


Chuck Roast

After rubbing the salt/pepper mixture all over the roast, I tied it up at even intervals with kitchen twine. At this point, I probably should have let the meat rest to let the salt absorb a little…but I didn’t.

dsc_0001

I then stuck it in a vacuum bag with a few crushed garlic cloves and double sealed it since it was going into the water bath for so long. I threw it into the water bath that I had set to 131°F for medium rare and left it in there overnight for 32 hours. I wanted to do 36 hours, but I didn’t get my act together early enough to get everything prepped and into the water bath.

After taking it out of the water bath, I stuck it in an water ice bath for a couple minutes before finishing it off with a sear in a super hot cast iron pan on the stove. It would have taken forever to heat the oven to a high enough heat to get the outside crust.

By the way, the meat was a bit tough – my brother mentioned chuck roast has a lot of connective tissue that has to break tough, hence the need to cook it for so long – I discovered that it tastes better when sliced thinly instead of in chunks. My husband said it tasted better the next day – no idea why but I won’t argue with that!

 


Mushroom Sauce

Mushrooms are my favorite vegetables and I love the flavor they add to sauces while still giving you your dose of vegetables. I had some leftover beef broth, so decided to make a very simple sauce where I just cooked the mushrooms, added some shallots, added leftover juices from the roast and the beef broth, and let it simmer down a little. It still was a bit thin, but could have let it continue to simmer or added flour or cornstarch if I had wanted something thicker.


Voilà!

dsc_0011

Sous vide chuck roast with mushroom sauce




Recipe

Sous Vide Chuck Roast with Mushroom Sauce

Servings: 8

Ingredients

Chuck Roast & Rub

  • 2 lb. chuck roast
  • Salt and pepper to cover
  • Garlic cloves, crushed
  • Butter, for searing
  • Optional: rosemary

Mushroom Sauce

  • 4-6 oz. oyster or shiitake mushrooms (or blend)
  • 1 can beef broth
  • Optional: flour or cornstarch for thickness

Method

  1. Cover chuck roast with salt and pepper and let rest in fridge for a couple hours
  2. Tie kitchen twine at ~1 inch even intervals
  3. Double seal the roast with the crushed garlic in a vacuum sealer
  4. Cook in water bath at 131°F (for medium rare) for 36 hours
  5. About 30 minutes before roast is ready, wash mushrooms and cut into chunks
  6. Cook mushrooms and shallot in saucepan until soft
  7. Remove roast from water bath and plunge into a bowl of ice water for a couple minutes
  8. Add juices leftover in the bag from the roast and enough beef broth to cover vegetables
  9. Simmer until it reaches desired thickness (add flour or cornstarch for thickeners if desired)
  10. Heat up a cast iron and add butter (I use clarified butter for a higher smoke point), garlic, and rosemary (if desired)
  11. Sear roast for ~45 seconds on all sides (including the top and bottom)
  12. Slice roast thinly and cover with mushroom sauce
  13. Nom nom nom!

Estimated Nutritional Information (chuck roast (meat) only per serving): 224 calories; 14.9g fat; 75.4mg cholesterol; 86.9mg sodium; 384mg potassium; 0g carbs; 21.7g protein

 

Leave a Reply

