Buttermilk Biscuits & Sausage Gravy

I really like biscuits, and it makes me happy when a restaurant serves them at the beginning of meals. My favorite biscuits are the ones from Loveless Cafe in Nashville, and they give you endless baskets! You can also watch them make them, which is really cool, but at the same time, you probably don’t really want to know what goes into them. I think my friend polished off a plate by herself (which is amazing!)

I’ve made butter-less biscuits before (Chive Biscuits), but I wanted to try the full-fledged (full-fat…) version. I first made buttermilk biscuits for a potluck lunch, but I had run out of milk to make sausage gravy, so I promised my husband that I would make them again. The first time, I made them with cheddar and scallions so that they would be savory and flavorful on their own. This time, I had leftover chives that I needed to use so I incorporated them into the biscuits.


Buttermilk Biscuits

I’ve read up a lot on how to make crusts, biscuits, and other baked goods get that flaky goodness. The trick is to use very cold butter, so I always stick the butter in the freezer before I start baking. As the butter heats up in the oven, it bursts and creates air pockets that help the fluffiness. I grate mine with a box grater so that it incorporates easily into the flour.

Rolling out the dough can get annoying sometimes because the dough tends to stick to my rolling pin. I feel like I use a decent amount of flour, but it never seems like enough to keep the dough from sticking. I don’t have a biscuit cutter, so I just use the open end of a glass to cut out the biscuits. I do like when they have a fairly smooth surface (rather than drop biscuits where you just tear off a hunk of dough and drop it on the pan) because then the surface bakes more evenly and you don’t get random peaks that are almost burnt.

I actually made them fairly thin the first time (and ended up with a ton of biscuits, so not all was lost!) and tried to make them thicker the second time. However, next time, I am going to try rolling the dough out, folding it over (x2, just like the recipe notes), but then trying to stack two on top of each other after I cut them out. I can’t seem to get the roll-out size right, and I think this will make them even more fluffy.

I’m still trying to calibrate timing and temperature of the oven in my new place as I feel like the same recipes baked at the same temperature (which is about 5-10 degrees off right now in the new place) for the same amount of time have been coming out differently.

But check out these flaky biscuits 🙂

dsc_0061
Buttermilk biscuits with chives

Sausage Gravy

This part of the recipe was more for my husband because I’m perfectly happy munching on warm biscuits with just butter. We actually couldn’t find uncooked breakfast sausage at the grocery store, so ending up buying pre-cooked sausage links and cutting them up. Not quite the same since I couldn’t use the sausage fat as flavor.

I also didn’t want to have any leftover sausage, so I used the entire package, but didn’t adjust the liquid in the same ratio, so it turned out really thick. Still delicious, just lots of substance.

dsc_0058
Sausage gravy

Voilà!

dsc_0063-2
Buttermilk chive biscuits with sausage gravy for a very hearty breakfast

 




Recipe

Buttermilk Biscuits & Sausage Gravy

Adapted from: The Food Lab’s Buttermilk Biscuits (the book has helpful pictures!) and Serious Eats’ Sausage Gravy

Servings: 8-10

Ingredients

Buttermilk Biscuits

  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 10 oz (2 cups) flour, plus additional to prevent dough from sticking
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 8 tbsp (1 stick) unsalted butter, very cold
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted (to brush tops)
  • Optional: cheddar and scallions, chives, etc.

Gravy

  • 1 lb breakfast sausage, chopped into pieces
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 1/4 cup flour 
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Optional: red pepper flakes, to taste

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 425°F and stick butter in freezer
  2. Combine buttermilk and sour cream in a mixing bowl
  3. Mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt
  4. Grate butter into dry ingredients and mix until just combined
  5. Dump dough onto floured surface and knead
  6. Roll the dough out, fold into thirds with scraper, and repeat
    • Add in biscuit mixin’s into the middle of the rolled out dough before folding it in thirds
  7. Cut out biscuits and put them on parchment lined baking sheet
  8. Brush tops of biscuits with melted butter
  9. Bake until they rise and are golden brown on top, about 13-15 minutes
  10. Meanwhile, cook the sausage (or heat it up if it’s pre-cooked)
  11. Add the flour and coat the sausage pieces
  12. Slowly add the milk and continue stirring until desired consistency (add more milk if you need to)
  13. Add salt, pepper, and if you want it to be spicy, red pepper flakes
  14. Serve gravy over biscuits (or just have the biscuits alone!) and nom nom nom!

Estimated Nutritional Information: Sorry, but I’ve given up on this for most dishes during the holiday season. If you’re looking for something less…hearty…check out my Chive Biscuits post. 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

