Sous Vide Lamb Chops

Lamb used to be my favorite meat, but now that I’m older I don’t love it as much as I used to. Don’t get me wrong, I still think it’s delicious, I just don’t eat it as much anymore and I don’t crave it as much as I’ll crave a good steak.

And yes, this recipe is for one serving, but I thought “lamb chop” without the plural sounded weird.


Lamb Chop

I prepare lamb very similarly to how I prepare steak, but add the requisite rosemary, which I don’t always do with my steaks (but apparently I did in Sous Vide Strip Steak & Corn on the Cob with Herb Butter). In fact, I just recently bought a rosemary plant as well as a sweet basil plant so that I don’t always have to purchase them from the store. They were only like $5 or $6 each and I’ve since used them for their worth many times over.

Okay now that I think about it, it’s basically the same steps as steak, but I’ll recap anyway because I took the pictures already! This time, I set the water bath to 132°F for medium rare and left it in there for two hours (leave it in there 1-4 hours).

For the searing step, turn your vents on high and open any nearby windows. Our stovetop vent is very weak and our kitchen has terrible ventilation, so I have set off our smoke alarm many a time when searing post-sous vide. My husband (and I’m sure neighbors) definitely loooove that screeching noise…

It only takes about 45 seconds on each side, depending on how hot you’ve heated up your pan. Don’t forget to wipe the pan down afterwards for next time.

DSC_0062
Smokey the Bear would not be pleased

Voilà!

DSC_0063
Lamb chop cooked sous vide, seared, and seasoned with love (aka Maldon sea salt flakes…which I love)



Recipe

Sous Vide Lamb Chop(s)

Servings: 1

Ingredients

  • 1 lamb chop
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 rosemary sprig
  • Butter or olive oil, to sear
  • Maldon sea salt flakes, to finish

Method

  1. Set sous vide immersion circulator to 132°F for medium rare
  2. Generously salt and pepper the lamb chop
  3. Vacuum seal or place in zippered bag with rosemary sprig
  4. Place in water bath (use immersion method if using zippered bag) and cook for 1-4 hours
  5. Remove from water bath and plunge bag into ice water bath for about 2 minutes
  6. Remove lamb chop from bag and pat dry
  7. Heat butter or olive oil in cast iron until starting to smoke
  8. Sear lamb chop on each side for about 45 seconds to brown
  9. Sprinkle with sea salt flakes (Maldon is amazing!)
  10. You should probably serve with a vegetable of some kind
  11. Nom nom nom!

Estimated Nutritional Information (per 3 oz. serving, lamb only): 250 calories; 18g fat; 82mg cholesterol; 61mg sodium; 264mg potassium; 0g carbs; 21g protein

Leave a Reply

