French Toast

Here’s another fun weekend breakfast idea (see my Brown Butter Oatmeal Pancakes post for another idea)! We hadn’t gone out and done a big brunch lately, so I decided to bring big brunch in to us.

I had a moment of self-reflection when making this, thinking how funny it was how much I rely on recipes to make everything (thank you Serious Eats’ Perfect Quick-and-Easy French Toast for this one), but my mom learned how to cook mostly by making things up and figuring everything out on her own. Basically, she’s the best. I always ask for cooking tips from her! ….and now I’m using these blog posts as reminders since I always forget and have to ask her multiple times.


French Toast

I wanted to use challah bread for this, but very sadly, my grocery store doesn’t carry it. I was way too lazy…and cheap…to go to Whole Foods, so just picked up what I’m pretty sure was a small loaf of French bread. This store also doesn’t carry any Italian bread loaves, which I was looking for a few days later to make garlic bread, so basically I will be using French bread for everything. I also just noticed this because we just moved to this DSC_0002particular part of the city a couple months ago, and we try to stay away from eating too much bread, which is really, really hard for me. Anyway, I digress.

The loaf ended up being the perfect size for a (big) breakfast, so I cut it into 8 thick slices, not including slivers for the end pieces. Don’t worry though, as I wouldn’t blatantly waste bread like that – I used the ends to keep my brown sugar moist because I don’t use it often enough and it always dries out. Maybe I should just bake more desserts. Sorry, another digression.

DSC_0003The batter was pretty basic and I had most things in the kitchen already. I did have to go out and buy whole milk since we drink almond milk, but I just got one of those single serving bottles, which I didn’t even use all of it. So, the whole milk got whisked together with the eggs, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla.  The original recipes calls for a “pinch” of cinnamon and nutmeg, but I really like those flavors so added more like a “two large shakes of the spice bottles” of them.

I used a cast iron pan to make these because the recipe says so, but I’m sure they’re just as delicious if you don’t have one and use a regular skillet.


Voilá!

DSC_0013
French toast with maple syrup



Recipe

French Toast

Slightly adapted from: Serious Eats’ Perfect Quick-and-Easy French Toast to meet my specific tastes / grocery store availability

Servings: 2

Ingredients

  • 1 loaf French bread, sliced into 8 thick slices
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • Dash of salt
  • 2 large dashes cinnamon
  • 2 large dashes nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp. unsalted butter
  • Sugar, to taste
  • Optional (but is it really?): Butter and/or maple syrup

Method

  1. Heat oven to 200°F
  2. Toast bread for about 10 minutes
  3. Whisk eggs, milk, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla extract in a large mixing bowl
  4. Heat butter in skillet/cast iron pan
  5. Soak as many bread slices that will fit into pan at one time into mixture
  6. Place bread slices in pan and cook until brown on bottom
  7. Flip and sprinkle with sugar and cook until other side turns brown
  8. Place finished pieces in oven to keep warm
  9. Serve with butter and/or maple syrup
  10. Nom nom nom!

Estimated Nutritional Information (per serving, without syrup): 546 calories; 25.1g fat; 321.7mg cholesterol; 718.4mg sodim; 302.9mg potasium; 59.8g carbs; 23.7g protein

Leave a Reply

