Butterscotch Blondies

I volunteered to bring dessert to a potluck a while back, but didn’t have time to run to the store, so I needed something that I could make with whatever I had at home. These ended up crumblier and sweeter than I anticipated, but I also have a pretty low threshold for what I consider to be sweet.


Blondies

I’m not a big fan of chocolate (yes, I know, I’m crazy), but I really love butterscotch (side note: I also love toffee. After I write this post I’m going to go look up a toffee recipe). I like using browned butter in my baking recipes, and this one is no different. Everything else is fairly straight forward – mix dry ingredients together, mix wet ingredients together, and mix them all together.

These are pretty crumbly, so you have to wait longer than usual to let them completely cool. Otherwise, they will fall apart. But if you like them slightly warm like I do, just use a spoon to eat! However, be careful not to burn your tongue because you couldn’t wait for them to cool down. Also, by using a square pan and cutting them into 9 pieces, almost every single piece gets an edge, which is my favorite part.

DSC_0017
I cut into them too soon before they were completely cooled

Voilà!

DSC_0024 (2)




Recipe

Butterscotch Blondies

Adapted from: Jen’s Favorite Cookies

Servings: 9

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter, browned
  • Just under 1/2 cup white sugar
  • Just under 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup butterscotch chips

Method

  1. Melt butter on stovetop until it starts to form and brown bits starts to form. Let cool
  2. Mix in the sugars into the browned butter
  3. Stir in eggs and vanilla extract
  4. In a separate bowl, mix together flour and baking powder and then mix in butterscotch chips
  5. Pour batter into an 8×8 or 9×9 baking dish sprayed with cooking spray
  6. Bake at 350°F for 35-4o minutes
  7. Let cool completely and cut into 9 pieces
  8. Nom nom nom!

Estimated Nutritional Information (per blondie): 227 calories; 13.9g fat; 47.3mg cholesterol; 100.4mg sodium; 9.8mg potassium; 23.2g carbs; 0.8g protein

Leave a Reply

